Meet Jenny, Teacher of the Month

Jenny playing her gong, harmonium, and crystal bowls.

Jenny playing her gong, harmonium, and crystal bowls.

This month we feature, Jenny Bergold, as Yoga by Degrees Teacher of the Month. YBD has been lucky enough to have Jenny since the company first came to Wheaton in 2011.  We are grateful that Jenny has shared her extensive knowledge of how yoga affects the mind and body and of course, her talents with her music.  Jenny’s classes and workshops are graced with beautiful vibrations from her gong, crystal bowls, and harmonium. Students have developed such deep connections with Jenny that they have her officiating their weddings! Thank you for all you do and for continuing to share your inspiring teachings and grounded energy.

When and how did you come to yoga?

I started practicing yoga sixteen years ago after suffering from anxiety and panic attacks. My doctor recommended it. My first class was in a church in Batavia. It was truly inspirational and heart opening. I had found my passion, my home. I would not be living today if it wasn’t for yoga and the many teachers who believed in me. They truly helped me heal. I am forever grateful.  

 

Why did you start teaching yoga?

I had my son, Michael, six-and-a-half years ago. I looked at him at three months and decided not to go back to my television production job, so I went to Hatha Yoga school instead:-). I was also a high school teacher in the past, so I feel comfortable working with students. As I said, I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for my many teachers, so I wanted to give back, especially to people with mental illness. Teaching Hatha & Kundalini Yoga is my path, my purpose in life. I want to uplift people through my teaching and my words. And I want them the know that they are never alone, especially with the amazing Yoga by Degrees community! 

 

What is your favorite pose?

Savasana! What could be better than resting and relaxing with blankets and a gong!;-)

 

Who inspires your teaching?

Wow! Where do I start?! My “stand by me through everything” family, my amazing and supportive friends, my Grandma Frieda and my niece Frieda, my son who brings joy and laughter to everyone, my life’s trials and tribulations, other teachers in this inspiring yoga community (especially Lara Devine & Nadja Lalvani), Yogi Bhajan, all the beautiful souls at Spirit Rising Yoga, but most importantly, my students. They show up on their mat even when they feel like staying in bed. They are a miracle and a blessing and inspire me to be a better teacher!    

 

Tips for beginners…

Have fun, bring an open mind, and keep up!

 

What’s your favorite quote? 

Let my mind find confidence

Let my soul find peace

Let me fulfill my life’s purpose

Let me live my life with the attitude of gratitude

I love myself

I bless myself

I heal myself

I am myself

~Yogi Bhajan

Leave a Reply

