Meet Shaun, Teacher of the Month

Shaun in Ardha Chandrasana, Half Moon Pose

Shaun in Ardha Chandrasana, Half Moon Pose

This month we celebrate Shaun as our Teacher of the Month. Shaun has been loyal to Yoga by Degrees as a student first, then a teacher trainee, and now an amazing teacher. His gentle but strong energy will disarm your stress and ground you throughout class. Also try to guess where he is from by his accent… 🙂

He subs at every opportunity but check out his permanent classes on the schedule:

6am YBD2 95 on Mondays in Western Springs

6am YBD2 95 on Fridays in Downers Grove

4pm YBD2 105 on Saturdays in Wheaton

2pm YBD2 105 on Sundays in Wheaton

4pm YBD2 95 on Sundays in Wheaton

When and how did you come to yoga?

Some time in 2010, my wife encouraged me to join her at a Bikram class. She thought I would love the sweat.

She was right. But even though I attended Bikram classes and YBD sculpt (and only sculpt) for close to 4 years,

I didn’t know anything about yoga (there’s 8 limbs?) until I started my teacher training in 2014. Once I began

to understand yoga’s breadth and depth, I was in the tank.

Why did you start teaching yoga?

I would come to YBD sculpt classes with my daughters, and after one of our instructors announced upcoming

training, they suggested I consider it. Ultimately, I chose to proceed for three reasons: teaching fit similar

things I had done in my past that I enjoyed, I was curious to learn more about yoga and as a big fan of YBD, I

saw it as an opportunity to be more integrated into it’s community. In a weird twist of fate, I had planned to

do sculpt training, but it wasn’t available at the time, so I jumped into the 200 HR program. That experience

has been transformative for me. Shit happens for a reason.

What is your favorite pose?

The next one.

Who inspires your teaching?

While my hope is to be a helpful guide to all that come to their mats, I am particularly inspired to serve those

folks who are new to yoga.

Tips for beginners…

I would offer three tips:

Do your thing and don’t worry about anyone else.

If you’ve lived by the no pain, no gain mindset, let it go.

It’s always a good time for a child’s pose.

What’s your favorite quote?

“To make the most of every minute, to fully embrace every second of every day, we have to accept we

only have a limited number of minutes and seconds left.”

Leave a Reply

