Meet Alex, YBD Teacher of the Month

This September, we tip our hats to Alex, our Teacher of the Month! Alex’s fierce energy and motivation that she gives off will blow you away. Alex is a mother who has been teaching for 7 years and was a scientist before that (Who knew? You’ll have to ask her about that one!). We are so grateful to have her as a mentor and leader in our community pushing our sculpt students and teacher trainees out of the comfort zone and into new thresholds of growth and change. Thanks, Alex for all the passion you give in your teaching and presence around Yoga by Degrees!
Here is Alex’s current permanent teaching schedule:
12pm Sculpt on Mondays in Western Springs
9:30am Sculpt on Tuesdays in Elmhurst
9:30am Sculpt on Thursdays in Western Springs
4:30pm Sculpt on Thursdays in Western Springs
6pm Sculpt on Thursdays in Western Springs
9am Sculpt on Fridays in Downers Grove
9am Sculpt on Saturdays in Elmhurst
Get to know our girl a little more below:
When and how did you come to yoga?
I started yoga 7 years ago after the birth of my last son.  Like many avid runners, I used yoga to cross train.  I realized pretty quickly that I loved one thing more than running:  YOGA!
Why did you start teaching yoga?
I started teaching at the urging of my yogi friends who felt I had the form and the heart to teach others.
What is your favorite yoga pose?
My favorite pose is a handstand because it took overcoming lots of fears and a lot of time for me to get there!
Who inspires your teaching?
My children and husband inspire my teaching hands down.  It’s important to be happy at what you do and to feel good about yourself.  That positive karma affects everyone in your life!  Plus I think it’s great for my boys to see their mom work outside of the home doing something she loves.
Tips for beginners?
If you’re just starting out at any of our studios, stop and talk to people…anyone!  Yoga is all about the community and friends you make.  Hop into a class confidently and don’t take yourself too seriously.  Remember :  “The expert in anything was once a beginner.”
What’s your favorite quote?
I am the MUSIC sculptor!!!
“One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.”
Bob Marley

One comment

Leave a Reply

