Mindful Monday: There is No Either/Or

12208203_10207992410198325_1944360817_n

“Life is about balance. Be kind, but don’t let people abuse you. Trust, but don’t be deceived. Be content, but never stop improving yourself.” ~Nishan Panwar

Balance. Our brains can easily conceptualize this idea, right?

Bonnie and Clyde. Apples and oranges. The yin to your yang. Dualities. Opposites. Q&A. B&W. Balance.

I’ve had many experiences in life, and all the while I’ve had a pretty clear grasp on this idea of balance, mostly because I’ve always refused to be an either/or type of woman. Often I can’t decide which label to occupy, and so I happily settle embodying a walking oxymoron. I’m an introverted extrovert. My practice is both strong and soft. I crave solitude and I crave people, equally. Half of me loves to feel life as a woman unafraid of the dark places on this earth and within my own Spirit, satisfied with the uncomfortable, and able to unapologetically open to the rush of the primal within – and the other half of me is logical, grounded, a puppet, so to speak, of my own (over)thinking. I’m all of these women. There is no either/or.

This week, set your intention on opening to your own dualities. See it all. Even when the crisp change of the weather mocks what feels like your own personal shift into darkness, look for the light. There’s beauty in letting the dead things go. Examine your light and your dark. Look at both your wins and your losses, your blessings as well as your disappointments. Your greatest hurts can become your greatest teachers if you point your perspective toward balance. And yes, we really are that powerful!

Leave a Reply

