Meet Becca, Teacher of the Month

 

We are excited to celebrate sweet, smiling, Wisconsin girl-at-heart, Becca as YBD March Teacher of the Month! Becca’s classes flow like a dance with smart transitions and attention to mindful, rhythmic breathing. Check out Becca’s permanent class schedule:

Tuesday at Elmhurst:
6-7pm YBD1 80-85
8-9pm YBD2 85
 
Thursday at Elmhurst: 
6-7pm YBD1 80-85
8-9pm YBD2 85
 
Friday at Wheaton:
6-7pm YBD2 105
 
Sunday at Downers Grove:
4-5pm YBD HOT
Becca Q&A

When and how did you come to yoga?

I practiced yoga every now and then in high school, but in 2013, I began practicing weekly with my best friend at the University of Wisconsin. When I graduated that year, I turned to yoga to help calm my anxiety and I learned to use it as a tool to get me through a time of immense change in my life. My love for yoga grew the more I practiced and it has been a consistent part of my life ever since!

Why did you start teaching yoga?

I’ve been a dancer since before I can remember and I grew up in a very musical family, so I’ve always loved music and dance. Yoga seemed like such a perfect fit that combined those two passions. Preparing for my classes and practicing yoga has been such a wonderful creative outlet for me that combines those two things – movement and music. 

Also, I found Yoga By Degrees shortly after moving to Illinois in 2014 and every single teacher that I met and practiced with made me feel so loved, welcome, and supported. I became more confident and happy because of these teachers and this community. I wanted to be somebody that brought joy and light to others in the same way!

What is your favorite pose?

Right now I’m really into malasana and chin stand. But I love trying new weird poses and transitions. I love the challenge!

Who inspires your teaching?

I am so inspired by “Yoga Girl” Rachel Brathen. I love her positivity and how approachable she is. I always try to be approachable and real with my students. I’m also constantly uplifted by my fellow yoga teachers at YBD. They are definitely a great source of inspiration!

Tips for beginners…

Be patient and be kind to yourself. If you’re like I was, you may be a beginner that is itching to get into an arm balance or inversion. Take it slow. You need a solid foundation to build up. Enjoy the process and the little victories. On your journey you’ll come to realize that the best part of yoga is more than the photo-worthy poses.

What’s your favorite quote?

It changes on a daily basis, but right now it is…

“Be somebody who makes everybody feel like a somebody.” – Kid President, Temo Coker

Leave a Reply

