Meet Alisa, Teacher of the Month!

We are so refreshed by Alisa’s positive efforts and attitude, constant presence at the studio as a teacher, subber, and student, and her enormous support and love for the YBD community. Get to know her better below:

Permanent teaching schedule:
Sunday: 1:30pm restorative in Western Springs
Monday: 8pm level 2 – 105 in Elmhurst
Thursday: 6pm level 2 – 95 in Elmhurst
Friday: 8:30am Sculpt in Elmhurst
Saturday: 7:30am level 2 – 95 in Glen Ellyn
9am Sculpt in Glen Ellyn
1:15pm restorative in Elmhurst

When and how did you come to yoga?
I first discovered yoga on PBS Chicago television. I would come from grade school and Wai Lana Yoga would do 30 minute sessions on the beach in Hawaii. I lost touch with it for a while but then in 2013 yoga found me again and I have been addicted ever since. It’s so much fun!!!

Why did you start teaching yoga?
I want to help heal the world from pain and suffering; to make others know that peace love and joy are accessible to everyone. The feeling of freedom I get at the end of every practice is something that all of us deserve and should feel every day.

What is your favorite pose?
I can’t choose just one. That’s impossible – they all make me happy… Do I have to? Let’s say bakasana, crow pose.

Who inspires your teaching?
My students. Every time I show up to teach a class and see another familiar smiling face walk in & say hello, I know something special is about to happen. They’re the reason I can’t wait to teach every day.

Tips for beginners…
Try all kinds of classes with an open mind & heart! Be gentle with yourself and don’t be afraid to talk to your teacher & fellow yogis! Yoga is about meeting you where you are at. We all come to our mat with different strengths, needs and intentions but we are still part of one community. If yoga feels hard, just keep showing up. Rome wasn’t built overnight so it may take a while to see any progress in your body, mind and spirit. 🙂

What’s your favorite quote?
I have so many but the two resonating with me lately are “don’t push the river, it flows by itself” and “let go or be dragged.”

Leave a Reply

