Mindful Monday: “I Can” Mantras

Good morning, and happy (what looks like it’s finally going to feel like) spring! What a simple pleasure to walk out of the house without a jacket on in April. Of course, on Monday, maybe it’s a struggle walking out of the door no matter what kind of weather we’re graced with. I read a startling statistic this weekend in an article from the Huffington Post that said 79% of the working population lives for the weekend, and 20% of those will begin to count down until Friday early in the week, making Monday one of the most “dreaded” days of the week.

Our attitude about the day is typically framed from the moment we open our eyes in the morning. And on Mondays, maybe the self talk sounds a lot like this: 5 more minutes. I can’t get out of bed. Can someone at least bring me coffee in bed? OK, I’m getting up. Do I have to?

Change your attitude and change your Monday mindset with these 10 “I Can” mantras first thing in the morning:

I can get out of bed without lingering.

I can drink 72-100 ounces of water per day.

I can prepare homemade meals for myself and my family on my own.

I can discipline myself to at least 30 minutes of movement per day.

I can reduce my stress levels.

I can improve my sleep habits.

I can reduce my medications.

I can reduce inflammation in my body.

I can create my own joy.

I can experience new adventures.

One small positive thought in the morning can change the dynamic of your entire day. It really is that simple. Who’s with me?
a559c7f621f0f511d69075c732909254

Leave a Reply

