Meet Stacey, YBD Teacher of the Month!

We are super grateful to have this talented yogini in our Yoga by Degrees community. She conducts her well-orchestrated yoga class with grace, power, and confidence. Stacey’s dedication to personal growth and connection is evident when you experience the supportive energy, authenticity and expertise in her classes. She subs often and check out her permanent schedule here:

Mondays, 9:30am YBD2 95 degrees, in Downers Grove

Mondays, 12pm YBD2 85 degrees, in Glen Ellyn

Mondays, 1:30pm Restorative 78 degrees, in Glen Ellyn

Thursdays, 1:30pm YBD2/3 85-90 degrees, in Wheaton

 

Get to know Stacey:

When and how did you come to yoga?

I starting practicing in early 2000 after my dad let someone talk him into buying some private yoga sessions.  He didn’t want to go alone (or really at all), so I went with him.  Even though we were in a gym setting and practicing in the middle of the weight room, it was love at first feeling.  After he dropped out, I continued to go until I finally got up the nerve to go to my first yoga class at a studio. 

Why did you start teaching yoga?

I started teaching because my teachers kept needing subs! I become an RYT to deepen my knowledge with zero plans of ever teaching. However, I kept hearing songs I thought would sound good for yoga and started to save them . So, when one of my teachers desperately needed a sub, I thought I’d give my playlist and teaching chops a try.  Both were epic fails, by the way.

What is your favorite pose?

To be honest, the only pose that doesn’t feel like pure bliss is eagle.  Eagle feels more like a pure beating.  I’m sure there is a lesson in there somewhere, I just haven’t found it.

Who inspires your teaching?

Whoa. This could go on forever.  My family, especially my two boys and my husband, my students, nature (human and the outdoorsy kind), Dharma Mittra, Bryan Kest, Dice lida-Klein, Sigmund Freud, John Friend, and of course all the amazing teachers at YBD that I am honored to have been able to practice under and with.

Tips for beginners…

Try, fail, try again.  Repeat.  Also, don’t take anything- including yourself or yoga- too seriously. Oh, and stay safe. Seriously.

What’s your favorite quote?

Laughter is the best medicine.

Leave a Reply

