Mindful Monday: The Art of Nothing

Happy Monday, y’all, and also on a random side note: happy free slurpee day…yep, get yourself on over to 7/11 today for an impromptu freebie!

I say impromptu because that’s my new jam lately, and maybe you want to try it out too. I’m officially 6 weeks away from becoming a mama for the very first time, and I’ve entered that super antsy and excited season where it’s become increasingly hard to find peace in patience. The waiting is the hardest part, right? Naturally, I was talking to my partner the other night about making a pre-parent bucket list, where we’d give life to a super long list of all the things we have to do in the next few weeks before our lives change entirely and irreversibly for the better. This idea came over me like a bright light bulb and I was super amped up about it because I’m someone who loves making plans. Something about always having something to do keeps me relatively “in control” and I’m all over that.

My partner listens with an obligatory smile as I rattle off idea after idea of things to do and places to see and projects to complete. Then he offers, “I have an idea! How about on your list you put absolutely nothing.” And I’m all like, “B-b-b-b-b-ut…”

In reality, while there are a lot of things to do and places to see and projects to complete that we probably won’t be able to put our full energy into doing or accomplishing with a new baby, the times will be very few and far between when we’re actually able to do absolutely nothing. I sat agape for a few minutes, partially in my own disappointment of my own shot-down idea, but mostly in an “Aha! Moment” that eerily brought some peace.

Doing nothing. But how?

Surely I’m not the only one out there who has a hard time sitting idly, even when the season calls for it and the time’s appropriate. We’re hardwired to want some level of control. We love making plans and drawing maps that’ll detail exactly how we’re going to get from Point A to B to C. The problem isn’t in having an ambitious vision or keeping busy with plans, but rather in our way-too-tight grasp on our vision of how things could or should be. What ends up happening when things start to look colossally different from our self-made vision is that we become unfortunate victims to disappointment we created ourselves.

Get excited about the future, but loosen the reigns a bit. This week, be gentle with yourself as you practice the art of doing absolutely nothing.

a9e048c5dd7bddaf972f6dc1fd719c9b

Leave a Reply

