Meet Indre, YBD Teacher of the Month

Where do we begin the list of wonderful things about this yogi? Indre is one of our managers and instructors at YBD’s newest South Naperville location. Indre is the heart and soul of the Bikram practice at Yoga By Degrees. Her strength coupled with her kindness provides a space for practitioners to find their best selves both on and off the mat. If you haven’t tried YBD’s newest class offering, the traditional Bikram series, come visit South Naperville and take Indre’s class soon! Her schedule varies but here’s when you can find her next week:

Wednesday, October 5th 4:00 & 6:00

Thursday, October 6th 10:am

Friday, October 14th 5:30am

See her full schedule here:

http://www.yogabydegrees.net/class-schedule/class-schedules-south-naperville.aspx

 

Get to know Indre:

When and how did you come to yoga?

I took my very first hatha yoga class in 2008 due to the intention of spiritual growth. My body was fine, but my soul was longing for meaning. The ideas of Eastern pfilosophy has always been intriguing to me, therefore starting my own yoga pratice seemed like a great way to elevate my knowledg from books into a experiential and more tangible level.

Why did you start teaching yoga?

Discovering Bikram yoga has changed my attitude towards life forever. Practicing yoga has helped me to live my life in a more healthy and happy kind of way. I am so grateful for this opportunity to share my passion with others. I have completed an intense Bikram Yoga teacher tarining in 2013 and have been teaching yoga since. I wanted to pass along the power of yoga because western culture is so attached to the idea of searching for  happiness outside. We live in one of the wealthiest countries in the world, however we are far away from being the happiest. Various addictions and depression is like a highly contagious virus. How come? What are we missing out? If you have no idea, get yourself into a yoga class to find out.

What is your favorite pose?

My favorite pose changes from time to time. At the moment I really enjoy practicing triangle posture. Different variations of this asana helps not to only open up the hips more, but also strengthens every major muscle group of the human body.

Who inspires your teaching?

My students. The commitment to their yoga practice inspires me to be on my own mat as often as possible.

Tips for beginners…

Keep your mind opened – the body will follow. Breathing and alignment comes first, the depth will come with time. Be your best friend, not your worst enemy.

What’s your favorite quote?

“The bird of wisdom needs two wings to fly. They are awareness and equanimity.” S.N. Goenka

Leave a Reply

