Mindful Monday: It’s OK to Have a Bad Day

okbadday

I had a really crappy day last Monday. I didn’t wake up late and sleep through my alarm. I didn’t spill my coffee. I wasn’t late for work. I didn’t get into any disagreements with friends or co-workers. Traffic was just fine. The weather was gorgeous. It wasn’t hormonal. My teenager was at his standard level of disdain for me.

I couldn’t attribute my “blues” to anything external. It was just a rare day where I was feeling a bit down and depressed and hopeless. And the universe didn’t even afford me the luxury of having someone or something to blame it on!

But this is LIFE. Nobody ever promised us that all days would be happy and sunny and perfect. That would be great, but wouldn’t that get a teeny bit boring? How would we ever find opportunities to grow and to learn and to experience a full spectrum of human emotions and experiences?

And most importantly, how else could we experience REALITY – exactly as it is, not how we think it SHOULD be or COULD be or HAS to be. Reality exactly as it is, with each breath and each moment.

Our yoga practice is unfortunately not a magic elixir to make life become PERFECT, filled with rainbows and unicorns. It is a tool that we can use to get better at living life. It helps us learn to be more accepting and more aware and more compassionate, first with ourselves and then with those we love, those who challenge us, those who hurt and annoy us, even those who are strangers to us.

Yoga teaches us to accept that some days we may feel a little blue. The work is in finding equilibrium – working so hard to stay grounded through the constant fluctuations life throws at us! Working so hard to be compassionate with ourselves during those days. And remembering we don’t have to fix it or change it or manipulate it or force it into something else.

So I am very grateful when those blue days come along. Grateful that they are few and far between. Grateful that they help me appreciate the sunny, joyful days even more. Grateful that they teach me humility and compassion and a way to connect to others when they walk through the doors having a “bad” day.

The truth is there is no such thing as a bad day – waking up and being able to move and love and feel and practice yoga is always a great day. Some days we are challenged to grow. Some days we get to sit back and experience the sweetness of life. But each and every day is a blessing. So the next time you have one of those days, be kind to yourself! It’s not the day to make major life decisions; it’s a day to slow down, be more mindful and look for things to be grateful for.

Happy (or maybe not so happy) Monday, friends!

One comment

Leave a Reply

