Day: November 1, 2017

Meet Jill L. YBD’s November Teacher of the Month

On days that feel a little gloomy with the clouds and early sundown, spending an hour with Jill feels like sunshine! She is a warm, kind, and loving soul which very much so translates to her teaching. She completed her teaching training with YBD in 2016, and has been sharing her love of yoga through all of our class formats with others ever since! We are grateful to have her on our YBD team; for her connection to her students and for always showing up with her contagious smile. Here’s where you can find her!

Class Schedule…

Tuesday – Downers Grove
Sculpt Fusion 4:30pm
YBD2 95 6:00pm
Wednesday – Elmhurst
Yoga Sculpt 12:00pm
HIIT Pilates 6:00pm
Saturday – Wheaton
Yoga Sculpt 9:00am
Saturday – Elmhurst
YBD2 105 4:00pm
When & how did you come to yoga?
I have been practicing yoga for over 20 years! Yoga became my primary form of exercise in 2009 after knee & hip surgeries kept me from running. It was then that I truly found my love of yoga. I began feeling strong. Yes, I became physically stronger but, more importantly, I found an inner strength that I had not known before. As I continue to grow in my physical practice of yoga, I also continue to grow mentally and spiritually. This is a very powerful combination! Yoga fuels me and allows me to feel prepared for the ups and downs of life.
Why did you start teaching yoga?
I found YBD in 2014 and quickly felt it was my second home. I was excited every time I went to class, and always looked forward to the next one. I completed YBD’s 200 hour RYT program in 2016 with hopes of sharing this love of the practice with others. I believe in the healing and strengthening powers of yoga and hope that each of my students experience this as well.
What is your favorite pose?
There are many poses that could be favorites but dancer pose comes to my mind first. This pose requires balance, strength, flexibility and patience. It makes me feel calm and graceful yet fierce and strong.
Who inspires your teaching?
My students inspire me! I love to  watch students grow in their own practice and in themselves. And most of all, I love the “yoga bliss” I see in students after class!
Tips for beginners…
Find and hold on to whatever it is that keeps you coming to your mat. Resist the urge to focus on just the physical practice of yoga. Pay attention to how your practice makes you feel inside and out.
What’s your favorite quote?
“Strength and growth come only from continuous effort and struggle”
Napolean Hill