Wellness Wednesday: There Is Still So Much Happiness To Experience

I had dragged myself to the lakefront right before sunset yesterday to continue my new summer tradition of practicing at sunrise. Without of doubt I would rather still be laying in bed but it was in this very moment I was reminded why these brief moments of ultimate peace has such an everlasting impact on the way we view life.

Somewhere along the pastel, glass skies that made me feel like I was in a parallel universe, the cool temperature with the right amount of warmth felt on my skin and the stillness and quiet of such a large city humbled me to appreciate the little things that occur. This presence that occurred during this realization made me acknowledge that life, in all of its fullness, is happening right now.

While our thoughts are sometimes elsewhere, beautiful opportunities and moments are being passed over and lost to the flow of time. And though we cannot possibly fully experience each beautiful moment, sometimes we get so attached to reaching our goals that we don’t pay attention to all that is around us. This way, we live in a world that exists only in our heads. There is so much to be enjoyed and appreciated that it is vital to remember to pay attention to the present moment, because it is the only space in which we can experience being alive.

Life must be tended to, and if we are mindful, we can enjoy it, too. We can begin again in the now by taking a deep breath and simply looking around. In doing so, we refocus our attention to our location in the real world. In balancing ourselves between the present moment and eternity, we can experience the reality available to us.

Namaste!

Angie

Leave a comment