Wellness Wednesday: Soothing Silence

Happy Wellness Wednesday, guys!

This past weekend I had the opportunity to take my annual escape to Colorado to visit friends and absorb the beauty of the mountains. While I was there I couldn’t help but notice for the first time there being a lot less background noise than we do here in Chicago and the suburbs. There was no longer the constant buzzing of sirens and congested roads but instead pure silence. Silence has always been something I craved as my schedule at home can leave me run down as I am sure you can relate to as well. My time spent in Colorado has always shown me the renourishing effect silence has.

But the idea of silence can make us feel awkward, finding it much more easier to move into activity to avoid silence whether this be in a conversation or space. However, silence is with us always. It’s vast, it’s potent, it’s renourishing. It has its own weight and quality. It truly is precious.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
As soon as we can accept the ability to be still we can experience our purest self. Our breath, our heartbeat, sensations, intuition. But if we go further to tune ourselves into the deeper silence we can feel the pulsating waves it uses to shake our core clean leaving us nothing but renourished and whole. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

This new perspective I have gained while in Colorado has always inspired me to always search for what feels good, what makes me feel whole. The views, the people, the awareness of ones own health, the balance of loud, social nights and silent, humbling mornings. I can’t take mountains back home with me but I can tune into the same silence I experienced out there. It is comforting knowing that. 

We can access it at anytime even in the midst of it all if we allow it. It is there waiting for us to resist the urge to create uneccessary sound. We can simply wake up before the rest of the world, turn off the car radio or television and immerse ourself into the surrounding silence to fully experience the healing effects.

Namaste,

Angie

⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

Leave a comment